U.S. Department of State
Other State Department Archive SitesU.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State
The State Department web site below is a permanent electronic archive of information released online from January 1, 1997 to January 20, 2001. Please see www.state.gov for current material from the Department of State. Or visit http://2001-2009.state.gov for information from that period. Archive sites are not updated, so external links may no longer function. Contact us with any questions about finding information. NOTE: External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views contained therein.
U.S. Department of State

US Department of State Homepage search archive faq feedback index Dept. Policy Services Outreach Regions The Secretary of State US State Department - The Department

Please see current site for the Secretary's Open Forum

Office Logo


Secretary's Open Forum Launches
Series for the 2000-2001 Term

About Open Forum

Forum Calendar


Registration Form



Secretary's Open Forum
U.S. Department of State
Harry S Truman Building
2201 C Street, NW, Room 3835
Washington, DC 20520
(202) 647-0444; Fax: (202) 647-4040

The Secretary's Open Forum was established by Secretary of State Dean Rusk in 1967 during U.S. involvement in the Vietnam conflict. Since its inception, The Open Forum Speakers' Program has helped to stimulate creative thinking on vital policy issues.

Through its Conversations with America Series and Distinguished Lecture Program, the Open Forum explores important questions related to U.S. national interests and honors leaders in government, academia, private industry, and the NGO community for outstanding contributions to international affairs.

Elected by employees of the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Open Forum Chairperson serves directly under the Secretary of State. Alan Lang is Open Forum Chairperson for the 2000-2001 term. Kenneth J. Harris is the Forum's Vice Chairperson.